Who ya gonna call?

10 Oct

No one.

I would loved to have called these guys (I just love Bill Murray)

                                  Or these guys

But I just had to rely on me. That’s the thing about being redundant. You have to budget and you have time to do things you wouldn’t normally have to do. And you have no excuses. So I had to unblock the sewage pipe. Yep. Me. On my own. Three buckets,a spade and a bit of four by two.

I did have help though, in the form of attire from the pound shop and wellies from B and Q .

So here is a list of my sewage uniform.

Cotton gloves (pack of 2) to wear under my latex gloves (20 in a box), to wear under my two pairs of marigolds (two pairs in a pack) Three paper masks (from a box of 20 and not very robust hence three) One  paper splash proof jump suit with hood. Total cos=£5. (I’ve had my wellies for ages) And I estimated that we saved over £400 before VAT.

I was a bit freaked out by the jumpsuit as I thought it would be more waxy and have an invisible force field, but it was definitely splash proof.

I put it all on not forgetting to put olbas oil in the masks for obvious reasons, and marched out to the garden and started digging up the pipe.I was at it for 2 hours. In that time there was torrential rain, hailstones and thunder and lightning. People driving past must have thought I was either burying a body or working with Taggart’s crime unit.

I’ll be back out there in 2 months time doing it all again. Just in time for Christmas. If only there was a Santa.

But really I will have to do it myself. And I will wear my uniform with pride.

Now, who wants to be my sidekick?

 

3 Responses to “Who ya gonna call?”

  1. Queen Marie October 16, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    Captain Keech and The Poo Pit of Doom…

    Damm fine work Captain.
    And to think, I honestly thought you were at the seaside…

    • discountdivah October 16, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

      You are most welcome to join me at the next seaside visit!

  2. Queen Marie October 16, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    Aaaah that lovely seaside smell.
    Thank you dearest DD but I will give this one a pass
    x

Leave a Reply

